My dessert for VVP


I wasn’t on the dessert list for Virtual Vegan Potluck, because I make plenty of them and wanted to flex my main dish muscles a little bit.

However, I couldn’t resist making a dessert to follow my main dish.

This lovely little bar comes from Isa Chandra Moskowitz again, but this time from her Vegan with a Vengeance book (my first vegan cookbook, actually).

Raspberry layer:
2 c. frozen (organic) raspberries (there were 2.5 cups in the bag, so I threw them all in)
3 T. tapioca starch (you can substitute arrowroot or cornstarch)
1/4 c. cold water
1/3 c. sugar (I used 1/3 cup maple syrup)

Blondie layer:
3 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
1 1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 (6 oz.) container plain or vanilla soy yogurt (my grocery store didn’t have plain, so I used vanilla)
1/4 c. rice milk (I used almond milk)
1/2 c. plus 2 T canola oil
2 c. sugar (I used 1 1/2 cups)
1 T. vanilla extract
1 c. chocolate chips (I used 3/4 cup)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and lightly grease a 9×13 inch pan.

For the raspberry layer:
In a saucepan, combine all raspberry layer ingredients and stir until the starch is dissolved. Bring to a boil and then lower to a low boil, stirring often, for about 5 minutes or until the sauce has thickened up. Remove from heat and set aside.

Raspberries, tapioca starch, water and maple syrup in the pot.

For the blondie layer:
Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, combine the soy yogurt, rice (I used almond) milk, oil, sugar, and vanilla. In batches, mix the dry into the wet until a dough forms. Set aside about 1 cup of the dough, and press the rest into your baking pan (you really are going to have to get in there with your hands to spread it well). Spread the raspberry filling over it, sprinkle half your chocolate chips over that, and spread out the rest of your dough. Finish with sprinkling your remaining chips.
(I actually put half a cup of chocolate chips in the dough, then sprinkled 1/4 cup of chocolate chips over the raspberry layer.)

Ready for the oven.

Bake for 35 minutes, and let cool completely before serving.

Raspberry and chocolate deliciousness.

Note: In the book, Moskowitz also notes that you can use raspberry jam or preserves if you don’t have time to make the raspberry layer.

3 thoughts on “My dessert for VVP

  1. Thank the goddess you didn’t include the nutrition label. Vegan means healthy, right? Low fat, low carbs, zero sodium, little sugar (very little), right? Right? No, don’t tell me, I don’t wanna know, I just wanna eat!

What say you?

